Victor Sangiorgio

St. Jean-Baptiste Church

“Poetic Perfection” was how Victor Sangiorgio’s London debut was hailed by The Times. Similar critical and public acclaim has continued to greet both his public performances and recordings. Magazines such as Gramophone have used words like ‘irresistible’ and ‘superbly colourful’ to describe his growing discography.

Born in Italy, he moved to Perth, Western Australia at the age of four and began his musical training there. He gave his first public performance at the age of five and by 19 had been a soloist with all the major Australian orchestras as well as recording and broadcasting extensively for both Australian National Radio and Television. He was also soloist with the Australian Youth Orchestra and with the West Australian Symphony on their tours of Communist China, Hong Kong and Singapore.

After winning Australia’s most prestigious awards, he lived and worked abroad in Siena, Rome and the USA before moving to the UK. Since residing in London, he has broadcast frequently for the BBC World Service, Radio 3, Radio 4 and Classic FM. He has performed throughout England, Scotland, Ireland, America, Asia, New Zealand and America. In America he has broadcast live in Chicago and Los Angeles for the WFMT Radio network and has appeared on American television.

He has collaborated with such conductors as Claudio Abbado, Sir Charles Groves, Andrew Litton, Jane Glover, En Shou, Stanislaw Skrowacewzski, Andre Previn, Jorge Mester and Carl Davis. As a frequent visitor to Australia he broadcasts regularly for the Australian Broadcasting Corporation as well as giving numerous recital and concerto performances with Australian orchestras.

His repertoire is extremely varied and he has a continuing interest in chamber music. This has seen collaborations with the Brodsky Quartet, his Piano Trio the Fiorini, violinists Ruggiero Ricci and Hu Kun, horn player Eric Ruske, the actor Andrew Sachs and principals from the London Symphony. He has given masterclasses in many cities throughout the world and has also been artist in residence at the Western Australian Conservatorium of Music and Visiting Lecturer in Piano at the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, Colchester Institute and the Birmingham Conservatoire.

Category Biography

en_GB
fr_FR en_GB

Victor Sangiorgio

Eglise St. Jean-Baptiste

Le Times qualifia les débuts de Victor Sangiorgio à Londres de « perfection poétique » Depuis, ses représentations et enregistrements sont salués unanimement par le public et les critiques. Le Gramophone qualifie sa discographie « d’irrésistible » et « très haute en couleur ».

Né en Italie, il part vivre à Perth, Western Australia, à l’âge de 4 ans, et il y commence ses études musicales. A l’âge de 5 ans il donne sa première représentation en public et à 19 ans il est soliste au sein des principaux orchestres australiens tout en enregistrant pour l’Australian National Radio et Television. Il joue également comme soliste au sein de l’Australian Youth Orchestra et de la West Australian Symphony lors de leurs tournées en Chine, Hong-Kong et Singapour.

Après s’être vu décerner les prix les plus prestigieux en Australie, il a vécu et travaillé à Sienne, Rome et aux U.S.A. avant de s’installer en Grande-Bretagne. Depuis son arrivée à Londres, il a souvent enregistré pour les stations Radio BBC, Radio3, Radio 4 et Classic FM et s’est produit en Angleterre, Ecosse, Irlande, Amérique, Asie et Nouvelle Zélande. En Amérique, il a enregistré en live à Chicago et Los Angeles pour VFMT Radio et a été programmé à la TV Américaine.

Il a collaboré avec de nombreux chefs d’orchestre de grande renommée tels que Claudio Abbado, Sir Charles Groves, Andrew Litton, Jane Glover, En Shou, Stanilaw Strowacewzski, André Previn, Jorge Mester et Carl Davis. Il se rend fréquemment en Australie où il enregistre régulièrement pour l’Australian Broadcasting Corporation et donne de nombreux concerts et récitals avec des orchestres australiens.

Son répertoire est très varié, mais il manifeste un grand intérêt pour la musique de chambre. Il a joué avec le Brodsky Quartet, son Piano Trio le Fiorini, les violonistes Ruggiero Ricci et Hu Kun, le corniste Eric Ruske, l’acteur Andrew Sachs et plusieurs premiers violons du London Symphony Orchestra. Il a donné de nombreux cours de grand maître dans le monde entier, a été titulaire au Western Australian Conservatorium of Music ainsi que professeur de piano invité au Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, au Colchester Institute et au Birmingham Conservatoire.

Catégories : Biographie

fr_FRFrançais
en_GBEnglish (UK) fr_FRFrançais