Sergey Levitin

St. Jean-Baptiste Church

Born in Russia, Sergey Levitin studied in St.Petersburg and Vienna where his teachers were Aaron Knaifel, Mark Komissarov, Mikhail Gantwarg and Igor Ozim. In 1996 he was appointed Concert Master of the Mariinsky Theatre (Kirov) Orchestra conducted by Valery Gergiev. With that orchestra, Levitin toured worldwide and took part in many recording projects for Philips Classics and Decca including Shostakovich’s symphonies and Rimsky-Korsakov’s Sheherazade.

Sergey Levitin performed as a soloist with Valery Gergiev and Gianandrea Noseda in USA, Switzerland, Italy, Finland, at the Edinburgh Festival and particularly the White Nights Festival in St. Petersburg where he has also appeared with the Wiener Streichersolisten.

In 2003 Sergey Levitin joined the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House Covent Garden where he is currently Concertmaster.

Sergey Levitin won different awards including prize for the best performance of Paganini capriccios at the prestigious Paganini International violin competition in Genova. Recent seasons were marked both by appearances with orchestras and recitals in the UK, Germany, France, Netherlands, Italy, Russia, Bulgaria, Poland, Spain, at the Wigmore Hall, at the Royal Opera House (both with the Royal Ballet and orchestra of the Royal Opera House).

Sergey Levitin has been in high demand as a chamber musician throughout his career. Aged fourteen he won “Concertino-Praha” radio competition as a member of piano trio. In 2004 Sergey Levitin, together with violist Alexander Zemtsov and cellist Leonid Gorokhov founded the Hermitage String Trio of London where he served the violin position until 2007. He collaborated with number of highly acclaimed artists including Sir Antonio Pappano, Alison Balsom, Piers Lane, Alexei Volodin and Nikolai Demidenko.

Sergey Levitin records for Dutton Epoch. World premiere recordings of violin concertos by Charles-Marie Widor, Sergei Bortkiewicz, Maximilian Steinberg and Charles Villiers Stanford with Sergey Levitin as a soloist and the Royal Scottish National Orchestra and Royal Northern Sinfonia, conducted by Martin Yates were released in 2015,2016,2017 and 2018 respectively.

As a guest-leader Sergey Levitin appeared with numerous leading European orchestras including Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich, London Symphony Orchestra, Philharmonia Orchestra, London Philharmonic Orchestra, BBC Symphony Orchestra, WDR Symphony Orchestra, Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra, Orchestre National du Capitole de Toulouse amongst others. At the request of Valery Gergiev he led “World Orchestra for Peace” in 2000 and 2003.

Category This year

en_GBEnglish (UK)
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)

Sergey Levitin

Eglise St. Jean-Baptiste

Né en Russie, sergey Levitin a étudié au conservatoire d’État de St Petersbourg et au Conservatoire de musique et des arts de la scène à Vienne. Ses professeurs étaient Aaron Knaifel, Mark Komissarov, Mikhail Gantwarg et Igor Ozim. En 1996 il a été premier violon du MariinskyTheatre (Kirov) Orchestra dirigé par Valery Gergiev. Il a participé à la tournée mondiale de l’orchestre et ensuite il a enregistré les symphonies de Shostakovich et la Sheherazade de Rimsky-Korsakov pour Philips Classics et Decca.

Sergey Levitin a joué en tant que soliste, avec Valery Gergiev et Gianandrea Noseda aux Etats Unis, en Suisse, Italie, Finlande, au Festival d’Edinbourg et au White Nights Festival à St Petersbourg où il s’est aussi produit avec le Wiener Streichersolisten.

Aujourd’hui Sergey Levitin est premier violon solo au Royal Opera House Covent Garden (Londres) qu’il a rejoint en 2003.

Sergey Levitin a été lauréat de concours prestigieux, entre autres le concours Paganini à Gènes où il a été le premier violoniste russe à remporter le prix pour la meilleure interprétation des capriccios de Paganini. En tant que soliste et musicien d’orchestre de musique de chambre il s’est récemment produit dans divers pays, le Royaume Uni, l’Allemagne, la France, les Pays Bas, l’Italie, La Russie, La Bulgarie, la Pologne et l’Espagne au Wigmore Hall et la Royal Opera House ( avec le Royal ballet et l’orchestre de la Royal Opera House).

Tout au long de sa carrière Sergey Levitin a souvent été sollicité en tant que chambriste. A l’âge de 14 ans, alors qu’il était membre d’un piano trio, il a remporté la compétition radiophonique « Concertino-Praha » .En 2004 Sergey Levitin, l’altiste Alexander Zemtsov et le violoncelliste Leonid Gorokhov ont formé l’ Hermitage String Trio, Sergey en a fait partie jusqu’en 2007. Il s’est produit avec un certain nombre d’artistes renommés tels Sir Antonio Pappano, Alison Balsom, Piers Lane, Alexei Volodin et Nikolai Demidenko.

Avec le Royal Scottish National Orchestra et le Royal Northern Sinfonia, dirigés par Martin Yates, il a enregistré en première mondiale des concertos pour violon de Charles-Marie Widor, Sergei Bortkiewicz, Maximilian Steinberg et Charles Villiers Stanford, respectivement publiés en 2015, 2016, 2017 et 2018.

En tant que violon solo, il a été invité par différents orchestres européens,entre autres, le Tonhalle Orchestra Zurich, le London Symphony Orchestra, le Philharmonia Orchestra, le London Philharmonic Orchestra, le BBC Symhony Orchestra le WDR Symhony Orchestra, le Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestraet l’Ochestre National du Capitol de Toulouse. A la demande de Valery Gergiev, il a dirigé « l’Orchestre Mondial pour la Paix » en 2000 et 2003.

Catégories : Cette année

fr_FRFrançais
en_GBEnglish (UK) fr_FRFrançais