Min-Jung Kym

St. Jean-Baptiste Church

”…she creates the music freshly and naturally, yet with spontaneity and mastery…”

John Lill

Steinway Artist Min-Jung Kym is quickly establishing herself as an innovative and musically-insightful aritst. She has performed with leading orchestras and musicians including Barry Wordsworth, Nicholas Collon, Pierre Amoyal, Nicholas Daniel, Mark van der Wiel, Mats Lidström, Leon Bosch, Joy Farrall, Andrew Haveron, Thomas Carroll, Sergey Levitin, Adrian Brendel and the sopranos Ailyn Pérez and Susan Bickley. Min-Jung was the ‘pianist of choice’ of the legendary violinist Ruggiero Ricci, with whom she collaborated between 2002 and 2005.

Min-Jung has appeared at many leading venues including the Barbican Centre, Wigmore Hall, Cadogan Hall, Royal Festival Hall, Queen Elizabeth Hall, Purcell Room, St. John Smith’s Square, De Montfort Hall, Brighton Dome, the Queen’s Theatre, Abbaye de Fontfroide, Schleswig-Holstein Musik Festival, Jascha Heifetz Society in Los Angeles, Cheltenham Festival, Holders Festival (Barbados), Broadwood International Festival, Albeniz Festival (Spain), as well as the Chichester Festival. Other venues include performances at the Emilie Bustani Hall in Al Bustan, (Lebanon) the Salerno Opera House (Italy), Palais de Chaillot, Salle Gaveau and UNESCO in Paris, The Princess Galyani Concert Hall in Thailand and the National Museum of Korea in Seoul, South Korea. Her performances are equally broadcast on radio in Europe, Asia and the USA.

In 2008, Min-Jung was invited to perform with the world renowned Philharmonia Orchestra, which was received with such acclaim that she was immediately invited to perform with them again the following season. Her collaboration with the orchestra continues with the release in 2018 for Signum Classics, the recording of the Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4 and the Mendelssohn Double Concerto under the baton of Clemens Schuldt, which was selected in the highly sought Apple iTunes Classical A-List in the week of its release.

A former Purcell School scholar, Min-Jung made her London solo concert debut at the age of 12 at the Royal Festival Hall. She went on to study as a scholar at the Royal Academy of Music, graduating with the Eric Brough and Elsie Horne prizes. Her professors have included Maria Curcio-Diamond (Schnabel’s protégée), Christopher Elton and Petras Geniusas. Min-Jung took regular masterclasses with Lev Naumov who hailed from the famous Heinrich Neuhaus School, and was lauded as the “Godfather of Russian piano school”. In 2009 Min-Jung was honoured with the Freedom of the City of London and elected a Liveryman of the Worshipful Company of Musicians. Further recognition was given when Min-Jung was awarded the Associate of the Royal Academy of Music (ARAM) – bestowed to alumni of the Royal Academy of Music who have distinguished themselves in the music profession and have made significant contribution in their particular field.

Min-Jung’s performances have led to fruitful collaborations with international designers, notably Zuhair Murad, Schiaparelli, Lie Sang Bong and Gustavo Lins who have all sponsored dresses for her.

Min-Jung is also a dedicated teacher and is regularly invited to give masterclasses in many parts of the world. She is also in demand as a jury member of many piano and chamber music competition.

www.minjungkym.co.uk

Category This year

en_GBEnglish (UK)
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)

Min-Jung Kym

Eglise St. Jean-Baptiste

”…she creates the music freshly and naturally, yet with spontaneity and mastery…”

John Lill

Artiste Steinway, Min-Jung Kym s’est rapidement révélée innovante et visionnaire. Elle s’est produite au sein d’orchestres et avec les artistes les plus connus, comme Barry Wordsworth, Clemens Schuldt, Nicholas Collon, Pierre Amoyal, Nicholas Daniel, l’Ensemble Haffner, Mark van de Wiel, Mats Lidström, Leon Bosch, Joy Farrall, Andrew Haveron, Thomas Carroll, Sergey Levitin, Adrian Brendel, les sopranos Ailyn Perez et Susan Bickley. Min-Jung était le “pianiste de choix” du violoniste légendaire Ruggiero Ricci, avec lequel elle a collaboré entre 2002 et 2005.

Min-Jung s’est produite dans les plus grandes salles, telles que le centre Barbican, le Wigmore Hall, le Cadogan Hall, le Royal Festival Hall, le Queen Elizabeth Hall, la salle Purcell, St. John Smith Square, la salle de Montfort, le Dôme de Brighton, le Queen’s Theatre, l’Abbaye de Fontfroide, le festival de musique du Schleswig Holstein, la société Heifetz à Los Angeles, le festival Cheltenham, le festival Holders aux Barbades, le festival international de Broadwood et d’Albeniz (à Comprodon en Espagne), ainsi qu’aux festivités de Chichester. D’autres concerts auxquels elle a participé se sont déroulés dans la salle Emilie Bustani à Al Bustan au Liban, l’Opéra de Salerne en Italie, le Palais de Chaillot, la Salle Gaveau et l’UNESCO à Paris, la salle de concert de la Princesse Galyani en Thaïlande, et le musée national de Corée à Séoul.

En 2008, Min-Jung a été invitée à se produire avec le mondialement connu Orchestre Philharmonia, et a reçu tant d’acclamations qu’elle a été immédiatement invitée à nouveau par l’orchestre pour la saison suivante. Sa collaboration avec l’orchestre se poursuit avec la sortie en 2018 chez Signum Classics, l’enregistrement du Concerto No. 4 de Beethoven et du Double Concerto de Mendelssohn sous la direction de Clemens Schuldt, sélectionné dans le selective iTunes Classical A-List dès sa première semaine de sa sortie.

Ancienne élève de l’école Purcell, Min-Jung s’est produite pour la première fois en soliste à l’âge de douze ans à la salle du festival royal. Elle a étudié à l’Académie royale de musique, recevant son diplôme avec les prix Eric Brough et Elsie Horne. On compte parmi ses professeurs Maria Curcio-Diamond, la protégée de Schnabel, Christopher Elton et Petras Geniusas. Min- Jung a suivi des cours réguliers avec Lev Naumov, originaire de la célèbre école Heinrich Neuhaus, et qui fut loué comme étant « le parrain de l’école russe de piano ». En 2009, Min-Jung s’est vue décerner la distinction « The Freedom of the City » de la Ville de Londres, et a été admise comme membre de société « The Worshipful Company of Musicians ». D’autres honneurs ont été rendus à Min-Jung puisqu’elle reçut le rang d’associé de l’Académie royale de musique (ARAM), une récompense décernée aux anciens élèves de l’Académie s’étant distingués personnellement dans la profession, et ayant apporté une contribution significative à leur champ particulier.

Les performances musicales de Min-Jung l’ont menée à des collaborations fructueuses avec des designers internationaux, notamment Zuhair Murad, Schiaparelli, Lie Sang Bong et Gustavo Lins, qui ont chacun sponsorisé des vêtements pour elle.

Min-Jung enseigne également le piano et est régulièrement invitée à donner des masterclass dans les conservatoires nationaux de plusieurs pays. Elle est également appelée à siéger comme membre du jury de nombreux concours de piano et de musique de chambre.

www.minjungkym.co.uk

Catégories : Cette année

fr_FRFrançais
en_GBEnglish (UK) fr_FRFrançais