Martin Yates

St. Jean-Baptiste Church

‘... one of the most exciting and versatile British conductors of his generation ...’ The Times

Martin Yates has, over two decades, built a career with a broad range of repertoire and genre.

Having studied piano with Ian Lake, composition with Richard Arnell and Sir John Tavener, and conducting with Bernard Keefe and subsequently André Previn, Yates made his conducting debut with the Israel National Opera where he conducted La Traviata, La Bohème, Tosca, and Madama Butterfly.

Yates has worked as a guest conductor with the UK’s most respected orchestras, including the London Symphony Orchestra, the Philharmonia, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, Hallé, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra and Royal Scottish National Orchestra. He has worked extensively in Scandinavia with orchestras such as the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, Malmo Symphony Orchestra, Bergen Philharmonic, Royal Stockholm Philharmonic and the Swedish Chamber Orchestra, with whom he conducted the world premiere of Mark Anthony Turnage’s A Prayer Out of Stillness. Elsewhere he has conducted the Zurich Tonhalle, Jerusalem Symphony, Danish Radio Symphony, Royal Flanders Philharmonic, Iceland Symphony, Johannesburg Philharmonic and the Orchestra of Gran Canaria. Yates made his Carnegie Hall debut conducting the New York Pops Orchestra in a programme celebrating the music of Charles Strouse.

Le ballet a pris beaucoup d’importance dans sa carrière musicale; il travaille beaucoup au sein du Royal Opera House de Covent Garden (Londres) où il a dirigé Agon, Manon, Roméo et Juliette, Mayerling, Seven Deadly Sins, Le lac des Cygnes et L’Invitation au Voyage. Il a également fait de nombreuses tournées aux Etats Unis, à Cuba, en Chine,  Hong Kong et en Europe. Il travaille aussi régulièrement avec le Finnish National Ballet, le Norwegian Ballet et le Royal Swedish Ballet.

Yates is much sought after as an orchestrator. He orchestrated two major piano works by John Ireland, completed from sketches E J Moeran’s Second Symphony and Richard Arnell’s Seventh Symphony, and orchestrated the song cycle by Edward Elgar “A Pageant of Empire”, all of which have been recorded and received with great critical acclaim. His orchestrations of the Van Manen ballet Four Schuman Pieces and MacMillan ballet Manon are performed worldwide.

Yates has recorded symphonic repertoire with orchestras such as the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, BBC Concert Orchestra, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra and Royal Flanders Philharmonic. Current releases include a series of recordings of the music of Richard Arnell with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra on the Dutton label, with whom he works on a very regular basis

Yates is lauded as an accompanist of the first rate and enjoys collaborations with soloists of international repute such as José Carreras, Barbara Hendricks, Bryn Terfel, Montserrat Caballé, Roberto Alagna, Angela Gheorghiu and Yo-Yo Ma. He is honoured to have conducted several Nobel Peace Prize concerts in Oslo as well as Proms in the Park in London.

His future engagements include performances with the George Enescu Philharmonic, The Royal Ballet, Finnish National Opera, The National Ballet of Japan, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Royal Scottish National Orchestra and City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra.

Category This year

en_GB
fr_FR en_GB

Martin Yates

Eglise St. Jean-Baptiste

… « Un des plus passionnants chef d’orchestre britannique de sa génération aux talents variés… » (Extrait de presse: Le Times)

Sa carrière,  commencée voici 20 ans, offre un large éventail de répertoires et de genres.

Il a étudié  le piano avec Ian Lake, la composition avec Richard Arnell et Sir John Tavener et fait ses études de chef d’orchestre avec Bernard Keefe, puis André Prévin. Il a débuté en tant que chef d’orchestre avec l’Israël National Opera où il a dirigé La Traviata, La Bohème, Tosca et Madame Butterfly.

Il a dirigé de nombreux orchestres en Grande Bretagne: le London Symphony Orchestra, le Philharmonia, le Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, le City of Birmningham Symphony Orchestra, le Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, le Hallé, Le Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra et le Royal Scottish Orchestra. Il a beaucoup travaillé en Scandinavie avec : le Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, le Malmö Symphony Orchestra, le Bergen Philharmonic, le Royal Stockholm Philharmonic et le Swedish Chamber Orchestra. Avec ce dernier il a dirigé la première mondiale de  » A Prayer Out of Stillness » de Anthony Turnage. Il a, par ailleurs, dirigé le Zurich Tonhalle, le Jerusalem Symphony, le Danish Radio Symphony, le Royal Flanders Philharmonic, l’Iceland Symphony, le Johannesburg Philharmonic et L’Orchestra of Gran Canaria. Martin Yates a fait ses débuts au Carnegie Hall en dirigeant le New York Pops Orchestra dans une programmation célébrant la musique de Charles Strouse.

Le ballet a pris beaucoup d’importance dans sa carrière musicale; il travaille beaucoup au sein du Royal Opera House de Covent Garden (Londres) où il a dirigé Agon, Manon, Roméo et Juliette, Mayerling, Seven Deadly Sins, Le lac des Cygnes et L’Invitation au Voyage. Il a également fait de nombreuses tournées aux Etats Unis, à Cuba, en Chine,  Hong Kong et en Europe. Il travaille aussi régulièrement avec le Finnish National Ballet, le Norwegian Ballet et le Royal Swedish Ballet.

Martin Yates est très demandé en tant qu’orchestrateur. Il a orchestré deux oeuvres de John Ireland pour piano, le cycle de chansons d’Edward Elgar: » A Pageant of Empire »; il a achevé les ébauches de la Seconde Symphonie de E. J. Moeran et de la 7e Symphonie de Richard Arnell. Toutes ont été enregistrées et acclamées par la critique. Ses orchestrations du   ballet  » Four Schuman Pieces » de Van Manen et de « Manon » de MacMillan sont jouées dans le monde entier.

Martin  Yates a aussi enregistré un répertoire de symphonies avec différents orchestres: le Royal Scottish National Orchestra, le Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, le Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, le BBC Concert Orchestra, le Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra et le Royal Flanders Philharmonic. De récents enregistrements comprennent des oeuvres  de Richard Arnell interprétées par le Royal Scottish National Orchestra sous le label Dutton.

Martin Yates est également très apprécié en tant qu’accompagnateur de solistes de réputation internationale tels que José Carreras, Barbara Hendricks, Bryn Terfel, Montserrat Caballé, Roberto Alagna, Angela Gheorghiu et Yo-Yo Ma. Il a eu l’honneur de diriger plusieurs concerts du Prix Nobel pour la Paix à Oslo ainsi que les Proms dans Hyde Park à Londres.

Parmi ses futurs engagements: des concerts avec le George Enescu Philharmonic, le Royal Ballet, le Finish National Opera, le National Ballet of Japan, le Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, le Royal Scottish National Orchestra et le City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra.

Catégories : Cette année

fr_FRFrançais
en_GBEnglish (UK) fr_FRFrançais