The Fejes String Quartet

St. Jean-Baptiste Church

Formed in 2006, the Fejes Quartet first came to know each other as members of the Royal Scottish National Orchestra. A chance opportunity to work together as a quartet established a musical collaboration of the highest standard, and they quickly gained a reputation for their lively performances and engaging approach, resulting in invitations to perform at music societies throughout Scotland. During the 2010 season, concerts included the RSAMD chamber series and a performance at Pollock House Arts Society to celebrate their 50th anniversary. A tour to Hungary to perform Bartók was a particular highlight.

In January 2011, the quartet toured Northern Scotland with great success, where they also promoted their debut CD. In July 2011 they were invited to perform a number of concerts as part of Les Heures Musicales d’Aujols, a chamber music festival in the south of France, the highlight being a performance of Schubert’s C major Cello quintet with the great cellist Raphael Wallfisch.

The Fejes Quartet currently has residencies at both the Glasgow Art Club and The Mackintosh Church in Glasgow. Not only confined to the concert hall and music club environment the Fejes quartet is well known for its versatility. They have recently been involved in a number of successful projects, working together with Enterprise Music Scotland, providing workshops on quartet playing in schools and a collaborative project with the percussion duo Owen and Olly. They have even been known to perform alongside a DJ in Glasgow’s West End.

Category Biography

en_GB
fr_FR en_GB

Le Fejes String Quartet

Eglise St. Jean-Baptiste

Le Fejes String Quartet s’est formé en 2006, alors qu’ils étaient tous membres du Royal Scottish National Orchestra. Très rapidement ils ont fusionné musicalement pour former un quartet de la plus grande qualité et acquis une excellente réputation pour leur interprétation et leur approche charmeuse de la musique. En 2010 ils ont donné d’une part, des concerts de musique de chambre au Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama et se sont aussi produits pour célébrer le 50e anniversaire de la Pollock House Arts Society. La tournée en Hongrie où ils ont interprété Bartòk a marqué cette année 2010.

En janvier 2011, le quartet a fait une tournée dans le nord de l’Ecosse et ils ont également enregistré leur premier CD. En juillet 2011, ils ont été invités à participer aux Heures Musicales d’Aujols, un festival de musique de chambre dans le sud-ouest de la France. Au cours de ce festival, la soirée la plus marquante a été l’interprétation, avec le célèbre violoncelliste Raphaël Walfisch, du quintet pour violoncelle en do Majeur de Schubert.

A présent le Fejes Quartet joue régulièrement au Glasgow Art Club et The Mackintosh Church à Glasgow. Ils ne se limitent pas aux représentations dans les salles de concerts et clubs de musique, le Fejes Quartet est aussi reconnu pour ses talents variés. Recemment ils se sont impliqués avec succès dans différents projets: d’une part, avec Entreprise Music Scotland, mais aussi dans la mise en place d’ateliers d’interprétation en quartet au sein d’écoles et, enfin une collaboration avec le duo percussionnistes Owen et Olly; ils ont même accompagné un DJ dans le West-End de Glasgow

Catégories : Biographie

fr_FRFrançais
en_GBEnglish (UK) fr_FRFrançais