Ilona Domnich

St. Jean-Baptiste Church

Identified by Opera Now as one of the 'new generation of sopranos destined to have impressive careers', an Artist of the Month in Opera Magazine, and on the Telegraph’s list of 'best British-based talent ', Ilona Domnich is a lyric soprano of growing distinction. She has taken leading roles with English National Opera (Rosina in The Barber of Seville), Grange Park Opera (Tatyana in Onegin), English Touring Opera (Pamina in The Magic Flute, Zerlina in Don Giovanni, Mimi in La bohème, all three Heroines in Tales of Hoffmann and Glaiche in Medea).

Her festival appearances include Aldeburgh, Ryedale, Menton, Jersey, Buxton, Anghiari, Mallorca, Tenerife. Recent concert highlights include recitals with the renowned Australian pianist Angela Hewitt; Sheherazade with the St Petersburg Philharmonic; Viennese Galas with the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Hallé and Brighton Symphony Orchestra; Mystic Trumpeter by Holst with BBC Concert Orchestra; as well as appearances on BBC Radio 4’s 'Woman's Hour' and a live BBC Radio 3 broadcast for International Women's Day with the BBC Concert Orchestra’s premiere of songs by Müller-Hermann and Martinez.

Born in St. Petersburg, Ilona studied piano before being spotted by the legendary singing teacher Vera Rosza, who brought her to London on a vocal scholarship at the Royal College of Music. Since then she has developed close relationships with the Southbank Sinfonia (Brahms Requiem, Mendelssohn Lobgesang, Gilda in Rigoletto, Tatiana in Onegin), the Orchestra of St John’s and John Lubbock, and the Oxford Lieder Festival (recitals with Sholto Kynoch).

Her recordings include an opera CD, Surrender, with the baritone Leo Nucci on Signum, Vaughan Williams' film score for Scott of the Antarctic with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Le secret with Quartz, Schostakovich CD with Braga records and Faure CD with the Orchestra of St John’s.

Coming up, she has a War Requiem with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra in Coventry Cathedral, concerts at Edinburgh’s Usher Hall and the Glasgow Royal Concert Hall with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra and Martin Yates, recitals with Alexander Melnikov, Benjamin Frith and the Gould Piano Trio, Weinberg song series at Wigmore Hall, Schubert’s Stabat and Brahms’ Requiem, and a tour of her own one-woman cabaret show based on songs by Marlene Dietrich, Jacques Brell and Edith Piaf.

Ilona has been preparing new opera roles concentrating on bel canto repertoire with the late Montserrat Caballé.

Les heures musicales d’Aujols 2019

Category This year

en_GBEnglish (UK)
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)

Ilona Domnich

Eglise St. Jean-Baptiste

Elle a été qualifiée par Opera Now de ‘nouvelle génération de sopranos qui sont vouées à une carrière impressionnante’, elle a été sélectionnée Artiste du Mois par le magazine Opera Now et paraît sur la liste des ‘meilleurs talents britanniques’ dans le Télegraph. Ilona Domnich est une soprano lyrique dont la notoriété est grandissante. Elle a interprété des rôles principaux avec l’English National Opera ( Rosina dans Le Barbier de Séville), le Grange Park Opera (Tatiana dans Eugène Onéguine) et l’English Touring Opera (Pamina dans La Flûte enchantée, Zerlina dans Don Giovanni, Mimi dans La Bohême, les trois Héroines dans Les Contes d’Hoffman et Glaucé dans Médée).

Elle a participé aux festivals d’ Alderburg, Ryedale, Menton, Jersey, Buxton, Anghiari, Majorque et Tenerife. Parmi ses concerts récents, citons les récitals avec la célèbre pianiste australienne Angela Hewitt ; Sheherazade avec le St Petersbourg Philharmonic ; des galas viennois avec le City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, le Hallé and Brighton Symphony Orchestra ; Mystic Trumpeter de Holst avec le BBC Concert Orchestra. Mais aussi des diffusions sur BBC Radio 4 dans Woman’s Hour et une retransmission en direct sur Radio 3 à l’occasion de la Journée Internationale de la Femme de la première des chansons de Müller-Hermann et Martinez avec le BBC Concert Orchestra.

Née à St Pétersbourg, Ilona a étudié le piano avant d’être repérée par la légendaire professeur de chant Vera Rosza qui l’a fait venir à Londres, au Royal College of Music grâce à une bourse d’étude vocale. Depuis Ilona a établi une collaboration étroite avec le Southbank Sinfonia ( le Requiem de Brahms, le Lobgesang de Mendelssohn, Gilda dans Rigoletto, Tatiana dan Eugène Onéguine), l’Orchestra of St John’s and John Lubbock et l’ Oxford Lieder Festival (récitals avec Sholto Kynoch).

Ses enregistrements incluent un CD d’opéra, Surrender, avec le baryton Leo Nucci on Signum, la partition de Waughan Williams avec le Scottish Royal Orchestra , pour le film Scott of the Antartic, Le Secret avec Quartz, des œuvres de Schostakovich avec Braga et des œuvres de Fauré avec l’ Orchestra of St John’s.

Ses engagements futurs sont d’une part, un War Requiem avec le Royal Philharmonic Orchestra dans la cathédrale de Coventry, des concerts au Edinburgh’s Usher Hall et le Glasgow Royal Concert Hall avec le Royal Scottish National Orchestra sous la direction de Martin Yates ; d’autre part des récitals avec Alexander Melkinov, Benjamin Frith et le Gould Piano Trio, des récitals de Weinberg au Wigmore Hall le Stabat Mater de Schubert et le requiem de Brahms ; mais aussi une tournée de son propre spectacle composé de chansons de Marlène Dietrich, Jacques Brel et Edith Piaf.

Ilona préparait également de nouveaux rôles d’opéra axés sur le répertoire de bel canto avec Monserrat Caballé ( aujourd’hui décédée).

Les heures musicales d’Aujols 2019

Catégories : Cette année

fr_FRFrançais
en_GBEnglish (UK) fr_FRFrançais