Hiroaki Takenouchi

St. Jean-Baptiste Church

Hiroaki Takenouchi (c)Jean-Baptiste Millot

Heralded by The Times as “just the sort of champion the newest of new music needs”, while being praised as “impeccable in his pianism and unfailing in his idiomatic grasp” by Gramophone, Takenouchi’s curiosity and a natural penchant for integrity makes his playing and vast repertoire unique amongst his generation of pianists. His love for the music of classical masters – particularly Haydn, Beethoven and Chopin – sits side by side with his passion for the music of Medtner, lesser-known composers such as Sterndale Bennett and Parry, and the contemporary repertoire.

As a soloist, Takenouchi has appeared on many concert platforms including Wigmore Hall, Tokyo Opera City and the South Bank Centre. He has also performed at festivals in Bath, Cheltenham and Salzburg and given recitals in the UK, Japan, Austria, Germany, Switzerland, Portugal, Italy and Canada. His more unusual recent projects include: a recital for the Rarities of Piano Repertoire Festival in Husum (Germany), a BBC Four documentary The Prince and the Composer on the life and music of Parry alongside HRH The Prince of Wales, and BBC Radio 3’s Composer of the Week, for which Hiroaki recorded solo piano works by Sterndale Bennett (broadcast in April 2016) and Alexander Campbell Mackenzie (broadcast in February 2017).

Takenouchi’s discography includes Schumann & Sterndale Bennett (Artalinna), Haydn: 4 Sonatas (Artalinna), Cosmos Haptic: Contemporary Piano Music from Japan (LORELT), as well as world première recordings of works by James Dillon (NMC), Edwin Roxburgh (NMC) and Jeremy Dale Roberts (LORELT). Upcoming recordings in 2019 include two-piano arrangements of Rachmaninov’s Second Symphony and of piano sonatas by Chopin and Liszt for Lyrita, as part of the Parnassius Piano Duo with Simon Callaghan. The duo has also recorded works by Percy Sherwood and Parry (Lyrita), and two-piano arrangements of Delius’s orchestral works (SOMM).

The Russian composer Georgy Catoire’s music is somewhat neglected today but Takenouchi is a passionate advocate of his Piano Concerto and recorded the work with Martin Yates and Royal Scottish National Orchestra. Their recording was released in 2012 on Dutton Epoch along with Percy Sherwood’s Piano Concerto, in another world première recording, which garnered excellent reviews in the press. Towards the end of 2016 Takenouchi went on to give the modern-day première of the Piano Concerto with London Phoenix Orchestra, the first performance since its première in 1920 at The Proms.

At the end of 2018, Takenouchi was invited to become a Blüthner artist, and he has recently embarked on his latest project, to perform all the piano sonatas by Mozart (UK and South Africa) and Medtner (UK) in the coming seasons.

Hiroaki Takenouchi (c)Jean-Baptiste Millot


Takenouchi teaches piano at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland (Glasgow). He also returns every summer to give masterclasses at the Ingenium International Music Academy (UK).
www.hiroakitakenouchi.com

Category This year

en_GBEnglish (UK)
fr_FRFrançais en_GBEnglish (UK)

Hiroaki Takenouchi

Eglise St. Jean-Baptiste

Hiroaki Takenouchi (c)Jean-Baptiste Millot

Encensé par le Times de Londres et Gramophone pour ‘’ sa maîtrise du piano et sa compréhension de la musique’’. Sa manière d’interpréter et son répertoire sont uniques. Son amour pour la musique des maîtres classiques, notamment Haydn, Beethoven et Chopin se confond avec sa passion pour la musique de Medtner, de compositeurs britaniques peu connus tels que Sterndale Bennett et Parry et pour le répertoire contemporain.

En tant que soliste, Takenouchi s’est produit dans de nombreuses salles de concert, entre autres le Wigmore Hall, le Tokyo Opera City et le South Bank Centre. Il a également joué dans divers festivals Bath, Cheltenham et Salzbourg et donné des récitals au Royaume Uni, au Japon , en Australie, en Allemagne, en Suisse, au Portugal, en Italie et au Canada. Ses projets récents , plus inhabituels incluent un récital au festival Rarities of Piano Repertoire à Husum (Allemagne), un documentaire pour BBC 4 , Le Prince et Le Compositeur, sur la vie et la musique de Parry avec SAR le Prince de Galles et le ‘Compositeur de la Semaine’ sur BBC Radio 4, émission pour laquelle Hiroati a enregistré des œuvres pour piano solo de Sterndale Bennett (diffusée en avril 2016) et Alexander Campbell Mackenzie ( diffusée en février 2017).

Sa discographie inclut Schumann et Sterndale Bennett( Artalina), Haydn : 4 sonates ( Artalina), Cosmos Haptic : musique contemporaine japonaise pour piano ( LORELT), ainsi que des enregistrements en première mondiale d’oeuvres de James Dillon (NMC) , Edwin Roxburgh (NMC) et Jeremy Dale Roberts (LORELT). Les enregistrements à venir, en 2019, comprennent des arrangements pour deux pianos de la deuxième symphonie de Rachmaninov et des sonates pour piano de Chopin et Liszt (Lyrita) dans le cadre du Parnassius Piano Duo avec Simon Callghan. Le duo a également enregistré des œuvres de Percy Sherwood et Parry (Lyrita) ainsi que des arrangements pour deux pianos des œuvres pour orchestre de Delius (SOMN).

La musique du compositeur russe Georgy Catoire est quelque peu négligée de nos jours, mais Takenouchi est un ardent défenseur de son concerto pour piano et a enregistré l’oeuvre avec le Royal Scottish National Orchestra dirigé par Martin Yates. L’enregistrement est sorti en 2012 chez Dutton Epoch. Le concerto pour piano de Percy Sherwood, un autre enregistrement en première mondiale a recueilli d’excellentes critiques dans la presse ; fin 2016, Takenouchi a interprété une version moderne du Piano Concerto avec le London Phoenix Orchestra, première interprétation depuis la première en 1920 aux Proms.

Fin 2018, Takenouchi a été invité à devenir un artiste Blüthner et il a récemment lancé son dernier projet qui consiste à interpréter toutes les sonates pour piano de Mozart ( Royaume Uni et Afrique du Sud) et de Medtner ( Royaume Uni ) au cours des prochaines saisons.

Hiroaki Takenouchi (c)Jean-Baptiste Millot


Takenouchi enseigne le piano au Royal Conservatoire of Scotland ( Glasgow). Il revient également tous les étés assurer des masterclass à l’Ingenium International Music Academy (UK).
www.hiroakitakenouchi.com

Catégories : Cette année

fr_FRFrançais
en_GBEnglish (UK) fr_FRFrançais