Gary Kettel

St. Jean-Baptiste Church

Gary Kettel became co-principal percussionist of the BBC Symphony Orchestra with Pierre Boulez at the age of 20 and since then has become one of Britain’s most sought after percussionists. Working with every major London Orchestra as Principal Percussionist including the London Symphony, London Philharmonic, Royal Philharmonic, Philharmonia and Academy of St Martin in the Fields.

For many years he was the percussionist with the Nash Ensemble and Peter Maxwell Davies’ ‘Fires of London’. Well known for his stylistic versatility, he has a huge experience in all musical fields from Latin American and Ethnic through straight Classical to Pop and Contemporary. John Williams, Jerry Goldsmith, Henry Mancini, Elmer Bernstein and Paul McCartney are just a few of the great composers he has worked with on films including the Star Wars series, James Bond series, Harry Potter series and Pirates of the Caribbean to name but a few.

He gives master-classes and coaching sessions to the percussionists at the Royal Northern College of Music, Trinity College of Music, Guildhall School of Music and Drama and the London Symphony Orchestra’s Sheel Competition and is a regular

He is a regular Examiner for the Royal Academy of Music, the Royal College of Music and Guildhall School of Music and Drama.

Category Biography

en_GB
fr_FR en_GB

Gary Kettel

Eglise St. Jean-Baptiste

Gary Kettel est devenu, à l’âge de 20 ans, le co-principal percussionniste du BBC Symphony Orchestra avec Pierre Boulez et depuis, il est le percussionniste le plus demandé en Grande-Bretagne. Il joue, en tant que premier percussionniste avec les principaux orchestres de Londres, tels le London Symphony, le London Philarmonic, le Royal Philarmonic, le Philarmonia et l’Académy of St Martin in the Fields.

Pendant des années il fut le percussionniste du NASH Ensemble et des « Fires of London » de Peter Maxwell Davies. Très connu pour sa polyvalence stylistique, il a une très grande expérience dans des domaines musicaux allant de la musique ethnique traditionnelle latino-américaine, en passant par la musique classique et jusqu’à la musique pop et contemporaine. Il a travaillé avec de célèbres compositeurs de musique de films tels John Williams, Jerry Goldsmith, Henry Mancini, Elmer Bernstein et Paul Mc Cartney dans les séries Star Wars, James Bond, Harry Potter et Pirates des Caraïbes pour n’en citer que quelques uns.

Il a participé à des master classes et encadré des groupes de percussionnistes au Royal Northern College of Music, Trinity College of Music, Guildhall of Music and Drama et à la Steel Competition du London Symphony Orchestra.

Il est aussi examinateur à la Royal Academy of Music, au Royal College of Music et à la Guildhall of Music and Drama.

Catégories : Biographie

fr_FRFrançais
en_GBEnglish (UK) fr_FRFrançais